In another musical highlight, viral sensation We Don’t Talk About Bruno was performed live, with Megan Thee Stallion adding an Oscars-themed verse to the Encanto hit song.

Hosts Wanda Sykes, Amy Schumer and Regina Hall kicked off proceedings inside the Dolby Theatre – where the Oscars returned after a year away due to the pandemic – with an opening skit that poked fun at everything from sexism in Hollywood to Florida’s “Don’t say gay” bill.

“This year, the Academy hired three women to host because it’s cheaper than hiring one man,” said Schumer.

Sykes added: “We’re going to have a great night tonight. And for you people in Florida, we’re going to have a gay night.”

Sci-fi epic Dune ended the night with the most wins, earning six in craft and technical categories best sound, score, editing, production design, visual effects and cinematography.


The annual “in memoriam” paid tribute to cinematographer Halyna Hutchins, who was shot dead by Alec Baldwin in a tragic accident on the set of Rust last year.

Recently deceased Hollywood greats also honored in the segment included Sidney Poitier – the first, and for many decades, the only Black man to win best actor.

The gala held a moment’s silence for Ukraine, while presenter Mila Kunis – who was born in the country – said it was “impossible not to be moved” by the resilience of “those facing such devastation.”

Several attendees wore blue ribbons reading #WithRefugees.


Best picture: CODA

Best director: Jane Campion, The Power Of The Dog

Best actor: Will Smith, King Richard

Best actress: Jessica Chastain, The Eyes Of Tammy Faye

Best supporting actor: Troy Kotsur, CODA

Best supporting actress: Ariana DeBose, West Side Story

Best international feature film: Drive My Car (Japan)

Best animated feature: Encanto

Best documentary feature: Summer Of Soul

Best original screenplay: Belfast, Kenneth Branagh

Best adapted screenplay: CODA, Sian Heder

Best original score: Dune, Hans Zimmer

Best original song: No Time To Die from No Time To Die, Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell

You can catch the repeat on Mar 28 on meWATCH and Mediacorp Channel 5. The red carpet event is at 6pm while the awards will be at 10.30pm. For more details go here.

Get Film Insurance Today